Obtaining my PMP Certification: The Application Process

Transcender IT Prep Blog

[Editrix’ note: Jennifer Wagner kindly consented to document her PMI certification path in this blog. After obtaining her PMP, she moved on to manage much larger (and more exciting!) initiatives here. Content developer Robin Abernathy has stepped in to continue documenting PMI certification, starting here: http://transcender.wordpress.com/2009/10/22/obtaining-your-pmp-certification-a-pmp-4th-edition-study-plan-part-i/.]

I’ve been an indirect and direct Project Manager for almost 12 years, and I’ve finally decided to take the PMP certification test. I’ve debated taking the exam for a couple of years now. I don’t have test phobia and I know a lot about exams, having written a few myself over the years. So for me, it wasn’t the actual test that scared me; no, the most daunting part was the PMP application process. Documenting my experience, tracking down the title and timing of my Project Management class, and putting myself out there for scrutiny was the big mental hurdle.

View original post 1,096 more words

Leave a Reply

